All-Time Favourite Pieces of Art

Here is my favourite all-time piece of art:

Mondriaan

Piet Mondriaan
Composition with Red, Blue and Yellow

Painted in 1930
Oil on Canvas, 20 1/8″ x 20 1/8″

Piet Mondriaan (1872-1944) was a Dutch painter who coined the term “Neo-Plasticism” to refer to his use of vertical and horizontal black lines combined with three primary colours. This particular work is my favourite since the paiting is completely linear yet abstract at the same time. I had seen Mondriaan’s work previously at the Guggenheim, but I could never fully grasp it until I overheard a remark by someone explaining that the work is simply Mondriaan expressing what his thinking patterns look like. In short, the image represents his brain function in a visual form. Nevertheless, I need a reproduction of this piece on my wall :)

What are your favourite pieces of visual art? Hit the comment link below and tell us.


Bookmark and Share

6 Responses to All-Time Favourite Pieces of Art

  1. cultblender says:

    If you’d ask me tomorrow I’d probably say something else, but right now I’d say Francis Bacons 1950 work Fragment of a crucifixion (http://francis-bacon.cx/animals/fragment.jpg) is my favourite.
    Luckily for me, it is in the collection of the Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven, which is quite near to where I live…

  2. garyjenkins says:

    MY favorite is ‘Icarus’ by Mateisse …

  3. vodkasoda says:

    the thing to to do would be to post a link!!!!! :)

  4. Sov says:

    I must say that you have excellent taste, sir.

    All I can say is that I’m happy to have run into this blog. Where else can one see all the fine things in life woven together so effortlessly and effectively?

    Killer name, too.

    Can’t wait to see more posts from your blog.

    I have got it bookmarked already.

    So, anyway, I think that about sums up my feelings in these regards.

    Gotta go, but I’ll be back tomorrow to read more of my new favorite blog.

    And I’m hoping that you’ll have some new posts by then.

    You better! :)

  5. vodkasoda says:

    Thank you for the lovely comment. (and yes, I know you’re from SI).

Leave a Reply

